Executive Order

On May 12, 2009, Executive Order 13508 on Chesapeake Bay Protection and Restoration was issued; it declared the Chesapeake Bay a "national treasure" and ushered in a new era of federal leadership, action, and accountability.

The Executive Order established the Federal Leadership Committee for the Chesapeake Bay, which is chaired by the administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency and includes senior representatives from the departments of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Homeland Security, Interior, and Transportation. NOAA is a key part of this team, represented through the Department of Commerce. The Executive Order charged the Federal Leadership Committee with developing and implementing a new strategy for protection and restoration of the Chesapeake Bay region.

Final Strategy was released in May 2010. Overall goals were established to:

  • Restore clean water
  • Recover habitat
  • Sustain fish and wildlife
  • Conserve land and increase public access

In addition, strategies that provide support toward achieving those goals were set:

  • Expand citizen stewardship
  • Respond to climate change
  • Develop environmental markets
  • Strengthen science

To track and plan for progress toward the goals, each year a Progress Report and Action Plan are issued by the federal team.